So Much Depends On Reputation – Guard It With Your Life

“Reputation is the cornerstone of power. Through reputation alone you can intimidate and win; once it slips, however, you are vulnerable, and will be attacked on all sides. Make your reputation unassailable. Always be alert to potential attacks and thwart them before they happen. Meanwhile, learn to destroy your enemies by opening holes in their own reputation. Then stand aside and let public opinion hang them. “

Personal Reflection: This is one of the quintessential laws of power in my mind, and one I have used very recently. Instead of getting directly in the middle of a conflict in which I have a stake in both sides, I pointed out a flaw in the aggressor’s reputation for all their extended family to exploit and hang around their neck, like an albatross. The results afterward? A much more pleasant person to deal with and plus, my reputation took no hit whatsoever because I kept my mouth mostly shut except when necessary. Even with that, I restricted my words. Keep this law above in mind, friends. It will serve you well as it did me.

Like what you have read? Have something to say? Feel free and leave a comment!

